The Academy of Country Music's
Pioneer Award statue designated as
"The Cliffie" in honor of
Cliffie Stone - May 5, 1999

Since 1969, the Academy of Country Music's Pioneer Award has been presented each year to outstanding pioneers in the field of Country Music. The recipient of this annual award is chosen by the ACM's Board of Directors.

For his immense contributions to country music, Cliffie Stone was presented with the Pioneer Award in 1972. He was one of the original Founding Fathers of the Academy of Country Music, and down through the years, he served on the ACM's Board of Directors as President, Vice President and, at the time of his passing in 1998, its beloved Historian.

In 1999, the Board of Directors of the Academy of Country Music voted to designate the statue presented to the winner of its annual Pioneer Award as "The Cliffie," in honor of the late beloved Country Music legend, Cliffie Stone.

Charley Pride officially made "The Cliffie" announcement on the 34th annual "Academy of Country Music Awards" special on CBS-TV on May 5, 1999; and the first recipient of "The Cliffie" was Glen Campbell (pictured above with Joan Carol Stone).

Previous recipients of the Award include Roy Acuff, Eddy Arnold, Chet Atkins, Gene Autry, Johnny Cash, Roy Clark, Charlie Daniels, Tennessee Ernie Ford, Merle Haggard, George Jones, Loretta Lynn, Roger Miller, Patsy Montana, Willie Nelson, Buck Owens, Patti Page, Minnie Pearl, Charley Pride, Tex Ritter, Roy Rogers, Ernest Tubb, Kitty Wells, Hank Williams, Sr., and, of course, Cliffie Stone.

"I, along with Cliffie's children - Stephen, Linda, Curtis and Jonathan - give our heartfelt thanks to the Academy of Country Music's Board of Directors for this wonderful honor they have bestowed upon Cliffie."

– Joan Carol Stone